Red Post Garage, Totnes

Ranked #123 of 211 in Devon

Services: MOT, Servicing, Tyres, Exhausts

Red Post Garage Littlehempston

TOTNES

Devon

TQ9 6NQ

Call 01803 812389

Get A Quick Quote
Trusted, reviewed and verified garages in your area.
Powered By

Reviews

Add A Review


"Broke down on way home"

By mac lewsi, 23 April 2021

Read More

I drove my car 15 miles during the rush hour to the garage to have a new clutch cable fitted as a piece of plastic had broken on the old cable. They fitted a new cable and I paid £178 but when I went to drive it home, I could not get it into gear. The owner Ian Scrase got in the car and said the clutch had gone and that if I wanted to move it, I had to turn off the engine and put it into gear before kangarooing down the road! New clutch £600+? It broke down in Ipplepen 2 miles away and a kind guy called Dean, who's details I wish I had taken came out from the industrial estate, looked under the bonnet with me and pulled the cable out of the bulkhead and reseated it, noting that it had been pushed half into the ferrule with some force, which had cut the cable locating grommet. Fixed in 90 seconds,. Subsequently, I had the car checked by a Saab specialist who stated a cheap universal cable had been fitted which was too long. Clutch is fine. I received a reply from Paul Scrase who stated that they were unable to move the car because the clutch cable had collapsed, which is simply not true: we had driven from Brixham 15 miles away (with the dashcam verifying the distance etc and parked in front of the reception with no problem). Ian Scrase agreed to refund the cable cost, but why should I have to pay for poor fitting (£85 for 1/2 work as I was told by the receptionist) and how, given that they had not looked at the clutch, could they diagnose it had failed? The garage said they had to fit a universal cable as Saab no longer were in business. 2 miles down the road is a saab specialist parts warehouse with genuine OEM cables. The price difference was an extra £16 for the genuine item.. In my opinion this is a garage to avoid.

Visited With

My vehicle

Visited In

Apr 2021

Cost

£100-£500

Duration

1-5 hours

Visited For

Repairs

Good Points

leaving

Bad Points

poor workmanship, exhorbitant price, wrong component fitted

Expertise

Quality of Service

Speed

Helpfulness

Value for Money


Recommended

"Independent family owned well equipped local garage with helpful staff "

By Devon Dan, 19 March 2012

Read More

A reliable garage which offers good value for routine servicing as well as more complex repairs. Always happy to diagnose and talk through the options, and will not rip you off by fitting unnecessary parts etc.

Visited In

Jan 2012

Visited For

MOT, Servicing, Repairs

Expertise

Quality of Service

Speed

Helpfulness

Value for Money

Other Good Garages near here

Central Garage, Bishopsteignton

Read More

Monnington Motors, Newton Abbot

Read More

Your Review of Red Post Garage, Totnes

Your Visit

I visited this garage in: *

for

MOT

Servicing

Repairs

Performance Tuning

Other

Your Review

Sum up this garage in one sentence *

What was good about this garage?

What didn't you like about this garage?

Your Review *

Rate this Garage

Expertise

12345

Speed

12345

Helpfulness

12345

Value For Money

12345

Quality Of Service

12345

Overall *

12345

Would you recommend this garage to a friend? *

Yes No

Pick any of these that were appropriate

The car was washed and cleaned

Work carried out was comprehensively explained

Invoice was clearly itemised

Great customer service

Pick-up and collection service

Courtesy Car

Online booking

Image Upload

Upload an image of your car

Uploading…
Done!
Error! .

Upload an image of the garage

Uploading…
Done!
Error! .
* required fields